The Carquinez Model Railroad Society is a nonprofit 501 C3 organization that is incorporated under the laws of the state of California. The club originated in Vallejo in 1976 in the Solano County Fairgrounds. Due to the County Fairgrounds Association desire to redevelop the fairgrounds in 2004, without providing space for the club, it began to search for a new home. In May of 2005, the club signed a five year lease with the new landlord, The Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The Vallejo layout was demolished and the name was changed to “Carquinez Model Railroad Society”.
The club’s new home was originally build in 1897 as a two story building including the main hall on the second floor which houses the layout. Due to the IOOF’s success, an addition of the rear half of the second floor & a third floor was added in 1927. This addition explains the unique door locations. The layout room is 36 feet by 60 plus an additional room that houses the south helix. There is a total of 2,330 sq feet of layout space. In 2004 the IOOF discontinued operations in the building. In 2011 the club purchased the building from the IOOF